Spurgeon elected BGCM president - Word&Way

Spurgeon elected BGCM president

Lee's Summit — Harlan Spurgeon of Springfield will serve as president of the Baptist General Convention of Missouri for 2006-07.

Messengers to the BGCM annual meeting March 31-April 1 elected Spurgeon, a retired missionary and pastor, by acclamation. He is a member of University Heights Baptist Church, Springfield.

Bill Miller of Farmington was honored for three years as president. Under the convention's constitution and bylaws, he could not be elected to a fourth term.

Messengers also elected Bruce Hadley of Windsor as vice president and re-elected Sondra Allen of Jefferson City to a fifth term as secretary.

Messengers adopted recommendations for the 2007 annual meeting to be held at Fee Fee Baptist Church, Bridgeton, with pastor Randall Fullerton to deliver the annual sermon and Scott Harrison, pastor of First Baptist Church, Lee's Summit, as alternate preacher.

Don Allee of Independence, Charles Davis of Kansas City and Glen Haddock of Rolla were re-elected to three-year terms on the board of directors.

Six new board members were also elected, including Rudy Pulido of St. Louis, Chris Cook of Columbia, Rocky Good of Farmington, Randall Bunch of Eldon, Sharyn Strack of Jackson and Miller. They will serve until 2009.

Verlyn Bergen of Hartsburg and Jack Blaylock of Columbia were given the nod as new members to the committee on convention committees.

Betty Van Blair of Bolivar and Jim Abel of Sullivan were named to one-year terms on the nominating committee, with Bob Foster of Maryland Heights and John Jackson of Farmington given three-year terms.

Wendall Page of Lee's Summit, Joe Copeland of Florissant and Donna Potts of St. Charles were elected to the corporate documents committee.

Jarrell Peach of Blackwater and Don Kirkpatrick of Independence are the newest members of the credentials committee, with Joe Pewitt of Bridgeton and Spurgeon elected to the order of business committee. (04-07-06)